Red Riders News · OHS Sports Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2019

The Orrville High School Sports Hall of fame is proud to announce the Induction Class of 2019.  This is the 15th induction class, dating back to the inaugural induction class of 1991.

The Class of 2019, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Sandra Badertscher Davault, Class of 1978. Three-time state qualifier in track, placed 3rd in the 4×440 relay (along with Mollye Helmuth, Sarah Geiser, Mary Naumoff) at the 1978 state meet. Longtime middle school volleyball & basketball coach.

Dawn Woodruff Hamilton, Class of 1998. Four-year starter in basketball, 1st team Division 2 All-Ohio. Played collegiately at Liberty University.

Dennis Raber-Malta, Class of 2010. Won the Division 3 State Wrestling title in 2010 (160 lbs). Three-time state wrestling qualifier, runner up in 2009. Three-year letter winner in football.

Mason Monheim, Class of 2012. Two-time 1st Team All-Ohioan and Division 4 Defensive Player of the Year in football, rushed for 1,000 yards in 2011 and participated in the Ohio/Pennsylvania Big33 game. Full scholarship to the University of Illinois. Two-time All-Big Ten Honorable Mention selection and a team captain. Two-time All-Ohioan in swimming at OHS.

Tom Moore, Class of 1985. Specialist for the Red Rider football teams in the mid 1980’s (long snapper for punts and field goals).  Scholarship to Ohio State where he played in every game over his four years there. Track MVP at OHS in 1985.

Brigette Ray, Class of 1983. State Champion (1981) in Shot Put with a throw of 39’ 9 ½”, still holds OHS record for girls discus (135’ 2”) set in 1983. First female state champion in OHS history.

Dru Robinson, Class of 1999. Tailback on 1998 State Champion football team. Ran for 2096 yards in 1998 (13 games). Division 2 State Champion in 100m dash (10.83) in 1999 and member of 1999 Div. 2 State champion track team. Played football collegiately at Indiana and Edinboro.

Erica Short, Class of 2005. 1st team All-Ohio volleyball in 2004, member of 2003 State Champion volleyball team.  Volleyball Scholarship to Indiana University where she earned All-Big Team and Honorable Mention All-American honors. Played volleyball professionally in Puerto Rico, Germany and Spain. Was also a 2nd Team All-Ohioan in Basketball at OHS.

Jake Strausbaugh, Class of 2009. Three-time State Placer in wrestling while at OHS, placed 4th in 2008. Wrestled at Wabash College; two-time NCAA tournament qualifier. 151 wins in high school and 159 wins in college.

Chad Teague, Class of 2001. Earned 12 varsity letters (football, wrestling and track). Kicker on 1998 State Championship team. All-Heartland Conference selection in football and wrestling. Placekicker at Mount Union College; earned three letters and member of two National Championship teams.

***Also being recognized is the 2003 Division 3 State Champion Girls Volleyball Team***

The induction of the Class of 2019 will take place on Saturday September 21st at OHS with dinner being served at 6pm in the cafeteria, with the induction to follow in the OHS Auditorium.  A reception will follow the induction in the Hall of Champions for family & friends to gather, take photos and share memories. Tickets are $25 per person.

Congratulations to the Class of 2019!!