Boys Varsity Wrestling · Hammer Time: Orrville keeps the Hammer in 37-34 win over Wooster

37 Orrville High School
34 Wooster High School
Away   Home
Away Home
Orrville High School vs Wooster High School
37 34

The Orrville grapplers avenged an early season loss, by beating host Wooster 37-34. The match started out rough for the Red Riders who gave up 18 team points in forfeits before the first head-to-head match was wrestled. Cory Stiffler (132) kicked off the scoring for the Red Riders by earning a first period pin over his opponent. Wyatt Zimmerman (138) continued the scoring by earning a tough major decision over Koblentz of Wooster. Jacob Bailey (145) spoiled senior night for Markul of Wooster by earning a pin at 5:18. The pins continued with Austin Warrick and Nathan Dombroski earning pins in 1:27 and 2:44 respectively. Tyler Smith took a forfeit in the 170 pound class. In a previous match Wooster’s Rock pinned O’Shea Smith, but, when it mattered, O’Shea managed to keep scoring to a major decision. In the 195 pound weight class, Brady Ayers fought hard but gave up a pin to his Wooster opponent. With the match hanging in the balance, Jeremy Bailey dug deep and earned a 10-8 decision that sealed the match for the Red Riders. In the final match, Wooster’s highly ranked heavyweight Burns pinned Coddie Phillips.

This year marks the seventh year for the hammer match. Orrville currently holds a 5-2 advantage in the hammer match.
2013 Orrville
2014 Orrville
2015 Wooster
2016 Orrville
2017 Wooster
2018 Orrville
2019 Orrville

The match is called the hammer match because a sledge hammer painted with the emblems of the two schools is given to the winner.

Orrville 37, Wooster 34
106 Rotolo (Woo) Forfeit
113 Double Forfeit
120 Gonzalez-Lippse (Woo) Forfeit
126 J. Tapp (Woo) Forfeit
132 Stiffler (Orr) pin S. Tapp 1:33
138 Zimmerman (Orr) maj. dec. Koblentz (Woo) 9-0
145 Ja. Bailey (Orr) pin Markul (Woo) 5:18
152 Warrick (Orr) pin Malone (Woo) 1:27
160 Dombroski (Orr) pin Hershberger (Woo) 2:44
170 T. Smith (Orr) forfeit
182 Rock (Woo) maj. dec. O. Smith (Orr) 11-3
195 Jo. Lyons (Woo) pin Ayers (Orr) 1:36
220 Je. Bailey (Orr) dec. Ji. Lyons 10-8
285 Burns (Woo) pin Phillips (Orr) 3:23